'Databases'

Research while in Blackboard

You may have already noticed there is now a library tab in Blackboard!

From the library tab you can: search for books and scholarly articles by subject, request a research appointment with a librarian, and get 24/7 chat help from a librarian.  Stay tuned for more subject specific Blackboard library modules!

RefWorks is also available through Blackboard.  If you have never used RefWorks before, it is a very nifty (but does have a bit of a learning curve) reference tool.  You can export citations from databases, the library catalog, LINK+, and there is even a download that will create citations from webpages! RefWorks is available through the internet so you can access your citations from any computer with internet access.  You can also quickly create bibliographies in your favorite citation format (APA, MLA, ASA, AAA, etc.).  View how to export citations from ProQuest into RefWorks.

Add comment October 27th, 2008

Saying Goodbye to Sociological Abstracts and PAIS International

The Wilson Library’s subscriptions to CSA Sociological Abstracts and CSA PAIS International will end on September 30, 2008. While access to these resources are ending, new databases that include more full-text access and a large percentage of the same resources are already available through the library website.

If you are a Soc Abstracts or PAIS International user, try using SocIndex with Full-Text or NCJRS for articles on your topics.

Add comment September 22nd, 2008

Social Sciences Citation Index Trial

Try out Social Science Citation Index from ISI Web of Knowledge.  The Wilson Library has a trial subscription through October 15, 2008.  Please give us your feedback on this resource! 

To access the database you must have your ULV ID number.  You can access through the following link or at the library trials page. 

http://0-isiknowledge.com.leopac.ulv.edu/>Social Science Citation Index Trial

Add comment September 22nd, 2008

New things at the library during the first week of classes!

This is a big week, not only at ULV, but in the Wilson Library!  Why you ask?  This week we welcomed two new librarians to the library faculty.  Andre Ambrus is our new Arts & Humanities librarian, and Shelley Urbizagastegui is our new Education Librarian.  The library faculty and staff are extremely excited about them joining the library team!

Another big addition is Sage e-Reference.  Sage publishes fantastic encyclopedias on a wide-rage of topics.  The e-Reference collection brings them one step closer to you by giving you access to some of the books online.  This is a great place to look for academic resources and entries.  The current books in our collection include:

  • Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
  • Encyclopedia of Counseling
  • Encyclopedia of Educational Law
  • Encyclopedia of Global Health
  • Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
  • Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
  • and More!

You can find SAGE e-Reference on the Library’s Encyclopedia and Dictionaries page, Subject Guides, or in the Databases by Title List.

 

Add comment September 5th, 2008


Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tags

Links